Galloping Towards Your Dreams

I recently finished two very different books about setting goals and searching for your dreams.  The first was The Alchemist by Brazillian author Paulo Coelho, which has sold over 20 million copies.  This book is a fable about searching for your Personal Legend (always capitalized), and how we can get lost and then found along the way. And when we think we’re lost, it may simply be part of the journey.

I appreciated the simple writing style to tell this tale of Santiago, a shepherd who meets a king, a witch, a shop owner, an Englishman, and the alchemist on his expedition to discover his Personal Legend (PL) and love.  I agreed with some tenets of the book including:

  • Encouraging our children to follow their dreams
  • As adults, can we rediscover our passions? (more on this another day)
  • We should trust the “omens”–and our instincts, they are interrelated, in front of us 
  • The risks we take while searching for our PL will help us to grow
  • There are reasons why some people purposely choose NOT to follow their true dreams

One clear mesage in the book is that “There is a language in the world that everyone understood…It was the language of enthusiasm, of things accomplished with love and purpose, and as part of a search for something believed in and desired.”

While I agree with his message we should try to  search out our dreams and passions, I found this book very preachy and repetitive.  There are nuggets of wisdom sprinkled in the book, but there is no subtlety about the importance of searching for the PL; it’s very much in-your-face, the words Personal Legend repeated throughout the story.  Yes, I know that the story is about this search, but don’t take the reader for someone who can’t remember it without writing out Personal Legend, Personal Legend, Personal Legend again and again.

I then read Shy Boy by Monty Roberts, who is a true horse whisperer, horse gentler, and now inspirational speaker .  At over 60 years old, Roberts man wants to follow his dream of catching on film how he “joins up” (his word) or gently breaks a wild mustang.  For centruries, horses have been cruelly broken, and he wants to demonstrate that this inhumanity isn’t needed, in his life goal to “leave the world a better place, for horses and people.”

The story is fascinating, as he talks about the joining up of Shy Boy in conjunction with other horses he has gentled and people who have inspired him, as he impacted thier lives during his speaking engagements and reading his autobiography, The Man Who Listens to Horses.

As he sets out to meet up with Shy Boy, he says “Still,  I felt relaxed and as ready as I would ever be.  If I failed to accomplish my dream, I thought to myself, it would not be because I hadn’t a chance at it.” Very similar message to The Alchemist.

The two books have many similarities–a hero  who has overcome a hard childhood, both are in continual search of their dreams, horses play a big part in their journeys, and they absorb all the beauty–and cruelty–that surrounds them. But I found Shy Boy more inspirational, perhaps because it  was true, I  enjoyed the wirting style more, and I didn’t feel the message was rammed down my throat.

And the photography that chronicles the story is amazing.  The photos are a similar style to what I like to shoot, and they are brilliant.  The photographer Christopher Dydyk only had one chance to capture the moments, and he did it throughout the book. Some of his work, including pictures of Shy Boy, can be found on his website.

It was fascinating to happen to read two books about following dreams back-to-back.  While written very differently, there were definitely similar themes throughout the books.  Perhaps reading these two books were “omens” that I should get on the path to search out my true Personal Legend.  Maybe this blog is the start of it. Only time will tell. C

 

 

3 thoughts on “Galloping Towards Your Dreams

  1. Colette

    Hi Cindy. I really liked reading your views about these 2 books. It really makes me want to read Shy Boy. Is it too horsey for a general book club? We have been reading so many books of persecution of women that we need something a little positive and inspirational. We women, in this country and time, are so much freer to define our own journey.

  2. haveanopinion

    Hi Colette. While I loved the book, it might be too hrsey for a book club. You might try this autobiography “The Man Who Listens to Horses” which shows him overcoming a lot of adversity in his life to become who he is today. I agree with your thoughts that women in Western America are much freer to create our journeys.

    Cindy

  3. Janaki

    Cindy,

    Awesome job on the blog. You do write beautifully and it shows! 🙂 I do agree with you regarding the book, The Alchemist. While having some great kernels, it did become preachy.

    I have a feeling that you keeping this blog, is going to be very cathartic for you. I look forward to many more entries.

    Continue on!

Leave a Reply

