Words from a Run

Here is an untitled poem I wrote partially in my head this morning while on a run in my neighborhood.

Crinkly and curled

some hollow, others flattened

coiled into half-letter shapes

C  I   S  L  N

pointing the way from the soaked grass

over the raised curb

and onto the street-

now unable to move further

having escaped their rain-filled holes

they wither, dry out, and die

unable to slide home again

after the storms end.

 

So sorrowful,

oodles of stretched out worms

I aim to avoid

along my pathway.

 

It’s funny, that writing in my head I can never remember the exact words when I transfer them onto paper. But I can certainly still picture the worms I saw today! C

Leave a Reply

