Not wanting a geisha life

A bit behind the times, I just finished reading Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden, which has been languishing on my bookshelf.  It was a fascinating fable of the Japanense culture in the early 1900’s.  The first 100 pages were difficult to read; people were so brutal to each other culturally and to survive.  I thought of my daughters, so close in age to these girls sold from their families, and cannot fathom having to do that.

I heard many times that readers could not believe that a man wrote the book, it so accurately depicted the female thoughts.  I agree with that sentiment, except for one part-where Sayuri loses her virginity.  Those paragraph seemed unreal, but  I won’t quibble about one small section. Another part I found tiresome was the hatred Hatsumomo had for Sayuri.  Enough, all ready.  The link to the title has some interesting follow up to the books, including some inaccuracies–but remember, this is a FICTION book.

Just a couple quotes from the book that I took away to remember:

“How curious it is, what the future brings us. You must take care, Sayuri, never to expect too much.” Mameha, at the end of the book (p. 422).

And the Chairman to Sayuri, in his old age: ” ‘Sometimes,’ he sighed ‘ I think the things I remember are more real than the things I see.'”(p. 427)

We should all be so lucky to meet up with the love of our life.  The divorce rate in this country shows that true love is hard to come by.  I am anxious to now watch the critically-acclaimed film of the story. C

Leave a Reply

