Looking Ahead

“Look up!” my riding teacher said. “Look around the corner, not at the ground.  You already know there isn’t anything under Owen’s feet.”

How eye opening: to realize that when I ride I look a few feet in front of me, but at the dirt– not straight ahead.  It is certainly a different view and a much better ride, watching at the space around me, not just the ground.  It has given me more riding confidence, with me sitting taller and directing us better.

For years I have know that when I walk on my own feet and someone glances at my, I historically look down, perhaps after a smile.  Not anymore.  It’s way harder learning to look up on my two feet than on a horse, but I’m working at it. C

Leave a Reply

