Thinking in French

By the end of the week in Quebec City, I was thinking in French.  It reminded me of my high school learning days, when I suddenly realized I didn’t have to translate each word back into English to understand it.  I was surprised–but loved–that I remembered so much.  Not everything, but enough so I could think about the basics.  I wanted to share my French with my husband and friends, but alas they speak English…and Sicilian…so that did not help.

I was able to communicate with waiters and shopkeepers, but an interview I might have failed.

Frontenac Hotel

Quebec City, a lovely place to visit and re-learn the past and experience the moment.  And realize that learning French and photography in high school were definitely classes worth my while. C

Leave a Reply

