Bow to the Giant Zucchini

Zucchini bread. Grilled zucchini.  Zucchini in stir fry.  Zucchini tart. Zucchini fritters. Raw zucchini on a veggie platter.  Zucchini enchiladas with homemade sauce.  It is zucchini time of year!   It IS a bit of zucchini over-abundance, sharing them with friends and family, wanting to slip them in neighbors’ cars.  But zucchini is so versatile, and it has given me a chance to try some new recipes.  I think about winter, when the fresh veggies come from countries away, and I am thankful to have my bountiful garden outside.

Zucchini, peppers, cuke and a myriad of tomatoes, oh my!

Our favorite recipes so far were the sauteed zucchini/peppers/onions in the enchiladas with a no-cook sauce.  And my girls would swear by the zucchini spice bread with the chocolate chips I tossed in. There are only a few more on the counter to whip up to zucchini parmesan and maybe some zucchini calzones.   I feel like we are eating healthier and more inventive, when the garden crop comes in.

Let the tomato and jalapeno onslaught begin! C

Leave a Reply

