Capturing your Creative Ideas

A cliché with many meanings, for me: Get your creative juices flowing.

As a writer or artist, where do you find your creative spark? I rarely find it just sitting behind my computer or camera. I need to get up, move around, observe, experience.

For me, there has to be some sort of connection, a reality-based moment, to branch my works on. Even the most fantastical world is created from some molecules or experiences of reality.

I have said this before, but when I have a deadline and a mind block, I just walk away from my computer. I often walk my dogs, snowstorm or sunny skies. The flows of thought may be illogical to others, but somehow not thinking about what I want to write about breathes life into an idea. Often the idea for a post, a poem, a photo, can come at very unexpected times. And not focus on where I originally expected to go.

If I am not careful, ideas will vanish long before I am able to capture them. How do I remember them, during times that I am away from my desk?

If walking or in my car, I often voice-record them in my phone. Even the gist of it is enough to spit out, create, edit.

I keep small notebooks and pens by my bed for those midnight thoughts, in my purse or briefcase for on-the-road ideas.

Even when mediating or in yoga class, when my mind wanders (oops!) to a kernel of an idea, I will try to write it down as soon as possible or it vanishes.

I wonder—where do fellow writers and artists find your creative moments? And how do you capture your ideas when they come at unexpected times?

C

P.S. Ironically, though I wrote most of this piece yesterday, the opening line came to me today while lifting weights.  The idea of this piece into reality, once again.

2 thoughts on “Capturing your Creative Ideas

  1. I’ve been thinking a lot about creative process recently. I think feeling cooped up inside during the winter drives me to find creative outlets indoors more so I don’t go insane 🙂 I get really frustrated when I have a million creative ideas bumbling around in my head and can’t DO something with them. So I try to schedule some time into my too busy life to create – to write – to be inspired. Sometimes just taking the time and space to do so gives me the inspiration I was otherwise lacking. Great post 🙂

    1. CindyC

      Thanks Maureen! I think you are releasing your creativity with all your house projects, photos, and many more I don’t even know about. You always seem busy! I find I have to schedule time as well.

Leave a Reply

