Movement

imgp0884
Lake Michigan, MI

To quiet my mind
zig zagging through the oh-so-important
and meaningless ideas
that whip around my brain
I sit
motionless on the bench,
no sounds of people around
unwavering,
and breathe
deep from within
again
again
until I feel the tension slowly dissipate
from my muscles, bones, sinew, and mind.

Then I become aware
there is movement around,
as my hair flies into my face
and yet, I wait.

The trees trunks remain solid
and strong
while the branches and leaves converse
in their captivating language
I cannot quite translate;

white puffy clouds steady the backdrop
while smaller gray wisps
race across the forefront,
causing the water to ripple and run
on the indigo lakefront,
spiraling out from center,
in undulating patterns.

I watch mesmerized
as the scene morphs again,
again
in a blink.

I absorb my calm
and realize that time
is motion and flow,
carrying on.

Survival.

C

Leave a comment